Janina Bauman Prize

Following a wonderful donation by the Bauman family, the Bauman Institute has established a prestigious award entitled the Janina Bauman Prize.

The award is given for the very best Dissertation submitted by a postgraduate student who is registered on either of the two Masters programmes offered by the Bauman Institute.

To be eligible for the Janina Bauman Prize, the Dissertation must address an area of “significant ethical or moral relevance”, which was a concern of Janina Bauman’s own writing. The final decision on the award will be made by an academic panel from the Bauman Institute, as well as a representative from the Bauman family.

The successful candidate will receive a sum of £1000.00 as a single payment.

“Janina Bauman once wrote that the hardest challenge is to remain human in inhuman circumstances. Through her life and example, she showed what humanity meant: commitment, engagement, care, culture, humour: in a word love

Professor Keith Tester
Department of Social Sciences, University of Hull, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

For further information on Janina Bauman:

Previous Winners

2015 – James Nicholson

The production of the new in vestral space: An analysis of ethical resistance movements which construct for themselves new social spaces and the vestral

2014 – Joseph Cocks

“Our Twisted World-Violence and Desubjectification in the Age of Consumerism”

2013 – Benjamin A. Hirst

“‘Creative Capitalism’ and the challenge to resist precarious labour in the art world”.

2012 – Jack Palmer

“Situating the ‘heart of darkness’, past and present – the Democratic Republic of Congo in Modernity and Globalization”

2011 – Oliver Schofield

Anti-Intellectualism in England: Bauman’s Real Challenge