Skip to main content

Postcolonial Bauman: 10th Anniversary Conference


University of Leeds, September 3-4 2020

KEYNOTES: Etienne Balibar; Carlo Bordoni and David Lyon (others TBC)

As one of the most prominent and influential intellectuals of our times, Zygmunt Bauman envisaged and practiced sociology as a dialogical activity.

Jointly held by the Bauman Institute and the Postcolonial Intellectuals and their European Publics Network (PIN), this transdisciplinary conference proceeds in this spirit by inviting a dialogue between Bauman and postcolonial studies organised around four overlapping strands, each of which reflects on the composite figure of ‘postcolonial Bauman’:

  1. Postcolonialism and Postcommunism;
  2. Postcolonial Europe
  3. The Intellectual as Outsider
  4. The Intellectual as seen from the Outside

The full Call for Papers can be downloaded by clicking below

Download (pdf), File Download


We now invite abstracts of no more than 150 words for this conference. Abstracts should be clearly linked to one of the four strands outlined above and emailed to the Committee via Sarah McLaughlin –

Abstracts received after 23.59 (BST) on Monday 23rd March 2020 will not be considered.

Decisions will be communicated to authors not later than Monday 6th April 2020 to assist with timely planning of travel and accommodation.

Conference Fees

The Committee wish to make this conference open, inclusive and accessible.

As such, we have kept fees as low as possible to run the event and have introduced a tiered structure as follows:

  • Salaried, permanent employment:  £55.00 (GBP)
  • Salaried, part-time or temporary employment:  £35.00 (GBP)
  • Early-Career and PhD researchers:  £25.00 (GBP)
  • Non-Salaried/ Retired:  £15.00 (GBP)

All fees are to be paid in full before the event. Fees will cover registration for the full 2-day conference and refreshments.

Details on how to register and settle payment for the conference will be available on our event website in due course.

Please direct all queries to Sarah McLaughlin -

Organising Committee:

Professor Griselda Pollock, Dr Mark Davis, Professor Max Silverman, Professor Tony Bryant, Professor Graham Huggan, Dr Jack Palmer, Ms Sarah McLaughlin.